The Hidden Hand / Wooly Mammoth – Night Letters


Disc 2 is a sampler of then-upcoming releases on MeteorCity.

The Hidden Hand needs no introduction, but for those who have no idea what they’re all about, the band features Scott ‘Wino’ Weinrich of Saint Vitus, The Obsessed, Spirit Caravan, and Place of Skulls fame. Their two contributions to Night Letters show that despite Winos deity status in the doom pantheon, The Hidden Hand are very much a band of equals. Five Point is centered on a driving riff thats typical of Wino. Welcome to Sunshine is an instrumental that shows what a year of constant touring does to a band. Its fluid yet tight, with fantastic playing by all three members of the band. Wooly Mammoth doesn’t have the pedigree of The Hidden Hand, but that doesnt diminish the impact of their two tracks. Its fuzz rock distilled with a classic 70s vibe. Night Letters will probably be purchased due to The Hidden Hands contributions, but a good number of people will walk away fans of Wooly Mammoth too. Its an excellent split CD. – Arzgarth,

Availability: 1 in stock

SKU: MCY-034 Category: Tags: , , ,

Label: MeteorCity – MCY-034
Format: CD, EP, Split + CD, Compilation, Sampler
Country: US
Released: 2004

Tracklist: Night Letters
1. The Hidden Hand – Five Points
2. The Hidden Hand – Welcome To Sunshine
3. Wooly Mammoth – The Prophet
4. Wooly Mammoth – Mastercut And Charisma
Tracklist: MeteorCity’s 2004 Sampler
1. Atomic Bitchwax – Dark Chi (2004 Demo)
2. The Obsessed – Brother Blue Steel
3. Meatjack – Sleep
4. Orquesta Del Desierto – Reaching Out
5. Ribeye Brothers – Goddamn The Sun (Rough Mix)
6. Black Nasa – Thanks Anyway
7. Spiritu – Throwback (Rough Mix)
8. Weadeater – For Evan’s Sake
9. YOB – Dogma (Demo ’99)